The karat tower or karet minaret near town of taybad

Tag: Touring the Khorasan provinces of Iran

Home » Latest Posts » Touring the Khorasan provinces of Iran

Many of our stories are focused on the Khorasan area because this where we live, in Mashhad, Razavi Khorasan province, and we think touring the Khorasan provinces of Iran is highly undervalued.

The Khorasan provinces of Iran are the three North Khorasan, South Khorsan and the middle Razavi Khorasan provinces in the northeast corner of the country, bordering Turkmenistan and Afghanistan. They were created in 2004 by subdividing the much larger Khorasan province.

Khorsan provinces of iran map
Khorasan provinces of Iran.

Touring the Khorasan provinces of Iran

The Khorasan Razavi province, the spiritual capital of Iran, is visited by millions of religious pilgrims each year because of the Imam Reza Holy Shrine but it is not a focus of tours from the West.


But we think there’s a lot to see here, including the mind-bogglingly beautiful deserts.

History of the Khorasan Provinces of Iran

The Khorasan provinces (also spelled Khurasan and Khorassan) are part of the legendary Greater Khorasan area, a much larger historical region stretching all the way to China.

The name Khorāsān is Persian and means “where the sun arrives from”.  The name was first given to the eastern province of Persia during the Sasanian Empire.


Ali and Saeideh plan their Iran roadtrips from their home in Mashhad. More about us here >>

Copyright © 2006 – 2024